Consider the Ravens

A black mass, they twist and swirl and swoop down, then back up. Their formation is astounding. I find myself mesmerized and slightly terrified at the same time. It’s become a tell-tale marker of cooler times coming. They start forming in October when reds, yellows, oranges, browns, pumpkins, emptying fields and floating leaves create one last splendor for the eyes and soul. It’s as if the year is giving one final burst of life before relinquishing itself of earthly duties and going into hibernation.

Just a bit ago, I found myself carefully watching this mass of blackbirds as they swooped across the field. There’s something intriguing about their movement. It brings a new meaning to ‘birds of a feather flock together’. I first noticed the birds do this back in college. I was working outside as an after school counselor and I remember feeling slightly as though I were in an Alfred Hitchcock film.

Where it can be disturbing on many levels and rather perfect for the spooky time of year, I do find myself curious and the next thing I knew I was Googling…apparently, this is a common phenomenon, especially for winter. The birds create a super flock for protection, food gathering and communication purposes. I began humming “Consider the Ravens” by Dustin Kensrue (lyrics below). Next I was on YouTube…

This song, introduced to me a couple of years ago, immediately became a favorite. It was presented to me with the bible verse: Luke 12:24 “Look at the ravens. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for God feeds them. And you are far more valuable to him than any birds!” Currently, the devotion I’m reading speaks about letting God be our fulfillment, our satisfaction. Not people, nor possession, nor position. Verse 23 says, “For life is more than food, and the body more than clothing.” And verse 25 states, “And which of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life’s span?” Time should be coveted and spent wisely. Why do we live so wastefully? My favorite line in the song is “So Father give me faith, providence and grace.” #amen I would much rather live that way. God’s got us. #trust

I won’t deny – it’s so much easier said than done. Resting in God is tough. #anyoneelsestubborn ?? But it brings a great peace. My faith journey has been dark like a swirling mass of crazy blackbirds and it’s been bright like their captivating motions and formations amazing swoops conquering leaps and bounds. What I’m finding now is it’s more like their purpose – a super flock working together, trusting and protecting. And I am finding peace even in those dark, swirling moments ❤

I will leave you with my morning devotion verse that has popped out at me all day long: “Because of God’s tender mercy, the morning light from heaven is about to break upon us, to give light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death, and to guide us to the path of peace.” Luke 1:78-79

Always remain in a soul search and along your journey, wherever you may be at the moment, don’t forget to consider the ravens.

I’ve got bills to pay

Taxman on my tail
Just keep prayin’ that
The check’s in the mail

There are times it seems
When everything’s lost
And I’m moaning, I’m tossed
And I see..

Between the river and the ravens I’m fed
Between oblivion and the blazes I’m led
So father give me faith, providence and grace
Between the river and ravens I’m fed
Sweet deliver, oh you lift up my head
And lead me in your way

I’ve grown sick and tired
Of trying to stand still
I’ve learned to let the wind
Pull me where it will

Throw myself into
The will of the wait
I can never be great
’til we’re free

Between the river and the ravens I’m fed
Between oblivion and the blazes I’m led
So father give me faith, providence and grace
Between the river and ravens I’m fed
Sweet deliver, oh you lift up my head
And lead me in your way

Although I’m walking through
The valley of the shadow of death
Evils all around
It’s coming from the right and the left

Trust that I will see
The glory above
Oh, your banner of love
Flies over me

Between the river and the ravens I’m fed
Between oblivion and the blazes I’m led
So father give me faith, providence and grace
Between the river and ravens I’m fed
Sweet deliver, oh you lift up my head
And lead me in your way

Leave a Reply

