Give Thanks

Give Thanks

“Lord, remind me how brief on earth my time will be. Remind me that my days are numbered how fleeting my life is.” Psalm 39:4

This verse, along with Psalm 90:12 “Teach us to realize the brevity of life, so that we may grow in wisdom.” are verses that I try hard to remember. I was taught a tough lesson in how fleeting life really is when my son was 6 months old and my father passed away suddenly.

I was so angry. He was supposed to be an active grandfather in my son’s life. He was supposed to be here for me when I had struggling motherhood moments. He was supposed to be more than someone we talk about as a memory in my son’s life. He was just supposed to be…

There’s so much that goes into grief. Where I may not understand the full picture of why my dad is gone, I have come to better understand bits and pieces. One thing I cherish above anything else I’ve learned through this particular journey is how thankful I am and how much I truly cherish watching my child grow.

#GiveThanks is this week’s hashtag…Thank you, Lord, for this amazing little boy. Thank you for the hair on his head all the way down to those crazy big 4 year old feet. Thank you for his sparkling eyes, that beautiful smile and the way his nose crinkles when he gets truly tickled. Thank you for his curiosity (did I really just say thank you for that?) and his love for the outdoors. Thank you for his carefreeness and his natural awe and wonder about the world that I may feel a piece of that again. Thank you, sweet God, for this beautiful child you have entrusted me with. He is one of a kind and made perfectly in your image. Thank you, thank you, thank you for choosing me to be his mother ❤

Leave a Reply

